top of page

Memory- "Mom, can we go to Hawaii when Quinton comes?" How to help your child deal with gr


This is a photo of my son and I when I was still pregnant. Like most 5 years olds, he was excited to be a big brother but also in denial that he would have to share his time, space and toys.

"Mom, when Quinton comes, can we finally go to Hawaii?" my five-year-old asked me one month after I lost both boys.

"Oh Sy, honey, remember, Quinton is not alive anymore. He's not coming." I try to speak this without choking on my words. "But I promise, we will go to Hawaii soon. Promise."

"Ok, because I really want to go and it's not fair if you go with out me." He replies with a bossy-air. Then he runs off to the playground.

How's he going to react? How do I do this? Am I saying the right thing?

These questions and conversations come up more than you think. I have had great professional support to deal with this. My son needed to see someone just as much as I did so I took him to a child grief psychologist I am really glad I did to know what I needed to do for him.

Here is a great document that guides me:

http://www.brookesplace.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/grief-myths.pdf


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page