top of page

Your Brain On Grief


"For me, when my brain gets tired and confused, it’s a clue that I need to slow down. Rest. Check in with my heart, see what comfort I might need." From the website: http://www.refugeingrief.com/grief-brain/

I am really fascinated by how the brain works, the science of it, so it is unique to observe my own mind and its transformation during this time. Humbly, I really know so very little but I enjoy learning.

http://www.grief-growth.com/mindbody.html

I have two posts today because it demonstrates how "sneaky" grief is and how it can make you feel crazy at times. As an example, I had a really positive morning and afternoon. I was able to get outdoors to try to be physically active (heal) and spent time with my dad, (also healing) and I felt good. I thought I was golden for the rest of the day: "I've got this grief thing now, it doesn't have me!"

Wrong. Fast forward to the evening time where I "attempt to be normal" and have a dinner with my family. We met at a restaurant, "I got this" I thought, "I'm in control, this will be good for me!" Enter: the anxiety attack. Loud restaurant, trying to focus, my son pulling on my arm, a trigger and boom, I'm out. I couldn't catch my breath. I had to leave the restaurant and find air. I felt trapped. By no one. It was no one's fault. But there it was reminding me, yet again: I'm not in control. Surrender.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page