top of page

Lesson: Accepting your feelings, change and always say you're sorry- this life is of substance

Dear Twins,

So Donald Trump will be our next president. I think it is fair to say that this nation and our collective consciousness feels lost and is having major growing pains. The anxiety and anger is palpable. It's very uncomfortable.

When your big brother asked me, "how did that happen mom?" I had very few words to call on. Finally, I said, "I think, but I'm not sure, fear, buddy." I went on, "Many people have fear in their hearts and they look to someone who seems like they are in control to help them feel that control too. Does that make sense bud?"

Your brother is so wise, replied, "No mom, that makes infinitely no sense." I could not disagree with him, so I just laughed and shook my head.

What I wanted to explain to your brother and myself more so was that, yes, we are allowed to feel disappointed, sad, angry and unsure, life can be so unfair in so many ways, I am so cognizant

of that now more than ever. Feel all your feelings, let them sit next to you for a while, they might even want to have a few drinks with you, but after their stay, kindly bid them farewell. They might be back soon, again and again and that's ok too. Accept them, don't fight them. Watch them come and go. Come and go.

I am not in control. We are not in control. I know this for sure because life and this is all impermanent. I do my best, I try my best, I uphold my deepest held values, I say sorry when I don't do my best and then I let go. Let go. Let go.

After the election, I took your brother to the beach to watch the sunset because we can always, at least for now, count on the sun setting. We all, myself included, still have a lot of growing to do. It will all be ok boys, you taught me that. Thank you.

I love you,

mommy


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page